102: An Extended Analogy (Also, my comment policy)

I want you to think of this blog as a Feminism 102 class, taught by an enthusiastic grad student. Which is to say, this class has a prerequisite: Feminism 101. Which is to say, do you believe that sexism exists and that it harms women?

If you said yes, you’re probably welcome here. (I’m aware that sexism also hurts men. That’s one of the items on the syllabus.)

If you said No, then this is not the site for you.

If you believe that women run the world, this is not the site for you.

If you think rape threats are ever OK, this is not the site for you.

If you use the word “femi-nazi,” this is not the site for you.

If you think women only/always get ahead because they have sexual wiles, this is not the site for you.

If you think that you want equality but think freedom is more important (and you chose to live anywhere that has a working police force), then this is not the site for you.

If any of your arguments against feminism involve the concept of evolution, then this is not the site for you.

That’s not a comprehensive list, mind you, but it may give you an idea of what I’m talking about. You need to be open to the very idea that sexism exists. I’m not here to try to convince you otherwise. If you honestly don’t think sexism exists, then I invite you to go visit any of the other websites on the internet. Good bye.

This is also 102, which implies that you have at least grade-school levels of basic manners and capitalization and punctuation. Please use them.

Also, I’m an enthusiastic grad student. Not a professor. This site is specifically so I can refine my ability to teach these concepts. Don’t expect perfectly crafted analogies every time. Plus, I’m a human and this is a complicated subject. I’m going to stumble sometimes. If you’re not OK with that, then this is not the site for you.

One comment

  1. I thought the reason Toni’s post was so unclear was that she was trying to attack the people who were talking about these issues without actually coming out and saying so. So I don’t buy the argument that she just wanted everyone to talk since everyone talking seems to be what is making so many angry. I agree with you. I don’t think they want a conversation. They want those they disagree with to shut up. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

